Essam Marouf – Piece of me

The contemporary portrait painter Essam Marouf succeeds in lending character and face to his protagonists, without de nitively and exhaustively de ning their roles.

MoreLess
The depiction of man is one of the most primordial subjects of painting and sculpture – already from the 20th century BC there are corresponding representations. The portrait manifests the confrontation with oneself: Again and again it askes, what and how is man? The contemporary portrait painter Essam Marouf, who works in the Netherlands, succeeds in lending character and face to his protagonists, without de nitively and exhaustively de ning their roles. With his works presented in this exhibition, he invites the viewers to engage themselves once again with the ongoing human dialogue with oneself.

 

Essam Marouf, born in Cairo in 1958, studied painting from 1976 at the Faculty of Fine Arts at Helwan University in Cairo and graduated in 1981 at the Mural Painting Section. From 1982 until 1985 Essam Ma- rouf studied at Accademia di Belle Arti in Roma. He lives and works between Cairo and Amsterdam.

 

 

Essam Marouf has shown his work in nu- merous solo and group exhibitions across the world at venues that include: Mena- sart Art Fair (Art Sawa Gallery), Beirut 2011, “Contemporary Views IV“, Al Masar Gallery, Cairo 2011, “Selections“, Gallery Misr, Cairo 2011, “Muse” Ofok Gallery, Museum M. Ghalil, Cairo 2011, “Still Valid” Selection of Contemporary Egyptian Art, The American University, Cairo 2011, “Realisme” Art Fair, Galerie Smarius/ Steven Sterk, Amster- dam, “Zomergasten”, Galerie Helga Hofman, Alphen aan de Rijn, 2010, Art Paris-Abu Dhabi, (Art Sawa Gallery) Dubai 2010, “Es- sam Marouf, works on paper“, Mashrabia Gallery, Cairo (solo) 2010, “Unforgettable views“, Galerie Helga Hofman 2009, 11th Cairo biennale 2008, L’Institut du Monde Arabe, Paris 2008, Art Amsterdam 2008 (Smarius Gallery) and Museum Complesso del Vittoriano, Rome 2007.

 

 

The works of Essam Marouf are part of various private, corporate and museum collections locally and abroad.

Essam Marouf – Piece of me

Der zeitgenössischen Porträtmaler Essay Marouf gelingt es, seinen Figuren Charakter und Gesicht zu verleihen, ohne diese abschließend und allumfassend auf eine Rolle oder Artigkeit festzulegen.

MehrWeniger
Die Abbildung des Menschen zählt zu den urtümlichsten Sujets der Malerei und Bildhauerei – bereits aus dem 20. Jahrhundert v. Chr. finden sich entsprechende Darstellungen. Das Portrait manifestiert die Auseinandersetzung mit sich selbst: Immer wieder fragt es, was ist der Mensch? Dem in den Niederlanden arbeitenden zeitgenössischen Porträtmaler Essay Marouf gelingt es, seinen Figuren Charakter und Gesicht zu verleihen, ohne diese abschließend und allumfassend auf eine Rolle oder Artigkeit festzulegen. Mit seinen in dieser Schau präsentierten Arbeiten lädt er ein, sich einmal mehr auf den andauernden menschlichen Dialog mit sich selbst einzulassen.

Essam Marouf, geboren 1958 in Kairo, studierte ab 1976 Malerei an der Fakultät für Fine Arts an der Helwan University in Kairo und schloss 1981 im Bereich Wandmalerei ab. Zwischen 1982 und 1985 studierte Essam Marouf an der Accademia di Belle Arti in Rom. Er lebt und arbeitet zwischen Kairo und Amsterdam.

Essam Marouf hat bereits an zahlreichen Einzel und Gruppenausstellung auf der ganzen Welt teilgenommen, darunter Menasart Art Fair (Art Sawa Gallery), Beirut 2011, Contemporary Views IV , Al Masar Gallery, Kairo 2011, Selections , Gallery Misr, Kairo 2011, Museì Ofok Gallery, Museum M. Ghalil, Kairo 2011, Ñ Still Validì SelectionofContemporaryEgyptian Art, The American University, Kairo 2011, Realismeì Art Fair, Galerie Smarius/ Steven Sterk, Amsterdam, Zomergastenì , Galerie Helga Hofman, Alphen aan de Rijn, 2010, Art Paris A bu Dhabi, (Art Sawa Gallery) Dubai 2010, Essam Marouf, works on paper , Mashrabia Gallery, Kairo (solo) 2010, Unforgettable views , Galerie Helga Hofman 2009, 11th Kairo Biennale 2008, Lí Institut du Monde Arabe, Paris 2008, Art Amsterdam 2008 (Smarius Gallery) und Museum Complesso del Vittoriano,
Rom 2007.

Die Arbeiten Essam Maroufs sind Teil einer Vielzahl von privaten, öffentlichen und musealen Sammlungen in seinem Heimatland und im Ausland.

Montag 8 Mai 2017
bis Sonntag 28 Mai 2017