Nikolai Nikogosian – Moscow Classic in the Double Mirror

Nikolai Nikogosian, at the age of almost 100 years, counts as one of the most important Russian sculptors and painters.

MoreLess

For the first time in Germany, a major part of Nikogosian’s works are presented, ranging from sculptural monument studies to nude paintings – for the then USSR a rather unusual subject. Nikolai (Nikolaus) Nikogosian (Николай Никогосян) was born on 2 December 1918 in the small village of Mets Shagriar (now Nalbandian) in the Ararat valley of Armenia. He went to Saint Petersburg to study, from1944 to1947 he continued his training at the Surikow Art Institute in Moscow under Prof. Alexander Matveew. Thereafter, we worked as a sculptor, painter and graphic artist in Moscow. He paints passionately portraits of people who arouse his interest. His models include the chemist Nikolai Zelinski, the ballerina Maja Plissetskaja, the composer Aram Khachaturian, the physicist Pjotr Kapitza and the chess world champion Tigran Petrosian.

The exhibition Nikolai Nikogosian – Moscow Classic in the Double Mirror is dedicated to a living legend of Russian art: Nikolai Nikogosian, at the age of almost 100 years, counts as one of the most important Russian sculptors and painters. Nikolai Nikogosian was and still is very productive and has created more than 200 busts (in bronze, wood and marble), 600 oil paintings and 3000 charcoal drawings. His works adorn private collections in France, Belgium, Finland, Italy, Germany, Portugal, Ireland and Greece. Several works belong to the collection of the State Tretjakow Gallery in Moscow.

The exhibition is complemented by a presentation of four further artists of the Moscow Circle: Mariam Aslamazyan, Armine Kalentz, Archi Galentz and Harutyun Kalentz. These painters, who have close family ties with Nikogosian, are proof of the productivity of the large Moscow artist family around Nikolai Nikogosian, to whom a private museum in Moscow is dedicated.

Nikolai Nikogosian’s awards:
1977 State Prize of the USSR
1977 People’s Artist of Armenia
1982 People’s Artist of the USSR
1987 Order of the Polish People’s Republic
1989 Professor of the Stroganow University Moscow
2001 Full Member of the Russian Academy of Arts
2008 Gold Medal of the Russian Academy of Arts

In cooperation with the Deutsch-Russisches Forum e.V.

logodrf_dtr_rgb

Wednesday 30 November 2016
bis Friday 6 January 2017

Nikolai Nikogosian – Moskauer Klassiker im Doppelspiegel

Nikolai Nikogosian, fast 100-jährig, zählt zu den bedeutendsten russischen Bildhauern und Malern.

MoreLess

Erstmals werden in Deutschland ein Großteil der Arbeiten Nikogosians präsentiert, die von bildhauerischen Denkmalstudien bis hin zu Aktmalerei reicht – ein für die damalige UdSSR eher ungewöhnliches Sujet.

Nikolai (Nikolaus) Nikogosian (Николай Никогосян) wurde am 2. Dezember 1918 in dem kleinen Dorf Mets Shagriar (jetzt Nalbandian) im Ararat Tal von Armenien geboren. Zu seinem Studium ging er nach St. Petersburg, ab 1944-1947 setzte er seine Ausbildung im Surikow Kunstinstitut in Moskau unter der Leitung von Prof. Alexander Matveew fort. Danach arbeitete er als Bildhauer, Maler und Grafiker in Moskau. Leidenschaftlich machte er Porträts von Menschen, die seine Aufmerksamkeit erregten. Zu seinen Modellen gehörten der Chemiker Nikolai Zelinski, die Ballerina Maja Plissetskaja, der Komponist Aram Khachaturian, der Physiker Pjotr Kapitza und der Schachweltmeister Tigran Petrosian.

Die Ausstellung Nikolai Nikogosian — Moskauer Klassiker im Doppelspiegel widmet sich einer lebenden Legende der russischen Kunst: Nikolai Nikogosian, fast 100-jährig, zählt zu den bedeutendsten russischen Bildhauern und Malern. Nikolai Nikogosian war und ist bis heute sehr produktiv und schuf mehr als 200 Büsten (in Bronze, Holz und Marmor), 600 Ölgemälde und 3000 Kohlezeichnungen. Seine Werke schmücken private Sammlungen in Frankreich, Belgien, Finnland, Italien, Deutschland, Portugal, Irland und Griechenland. Einige Werke gehören zur Sammlung der Staatlichen Tretjakow-Galerie in Moskau.

Ergänzt wird die Ausstellung um eine Präsentation von vier weiteren Künstler des Moskauer Kreises: Mariam Aslamazyan, Armine Kalentz, Archi Galentz sowie Harutyun Kalentz. Diese Maler, die in enger familiärer Bindung zu Nikogosian stehen, belegen die Produktivität der großen Moskauer Künstlerfamilie um Nikolai Nikogosian, der in Moskau ein Privatmuseum gewidmet ist.

 

Nikolai Nikogosian’s Auszeichnungen:
1977 Staatspreis der UdSSR
1977 Volkskünstler von Armenia
1982 Volkskünstler der UdSSR
1987 Verdienstorder der Volksrepublik Polen
1989 Professor der Stroganow Universität Moskau
2001 Ordentliches Mitglied der Russischen Akademie der Künste
2008 Goldmedaille der Russischen Akademie der Künste

 

In Kooperation mit dem Deutsch-Russischen Forum e.V.

logodrf_dtr_rgb

Mittwoch 30 November 2016
bis Freitag 6 Januar 2017