The Direktorenhaus celebrates birthday!

For 10 years now, the directors’ house has been showing the very best of applied arts: unique pieces, small series […]

For 10 years now, the directors’ house has been showing the very best of applied arts: unique pieces, small series and conceptual work. The anniversary will be celebrated in May 2021.

 

In the beginning, the Direktorenhaus was an abandoned ruin on the Spree, as it stood and lay (this is real estate German). Without electricity, without water. An overlooked corner in the centre of the capital. But still: there was the opportunity for a surprise. Berlin needed an exhibition house for applied art. An independent place for aesthetic tradition and – above all – breaking with tradition.

During the day, the house, with its high ceilings and French balconies, is a refuge of productive concentration. On the floors of the director’s house, there are studios, workshops and studios in addition to the exhibition rooms. This is where the Fellows, painters, designers, artisans and sound designers work. Programmatically, the Direktorenhaus is committed to a new positioning of applied art. Why this? If arts and crafts are only the little sister of art, as is so readily circulated in the hip art market, then it is the little clever sister: in artistic craftsmanship a current positive vision of the future appears, which mediates between proximity and distance, responsibility and beauty and touches the reality of many people’s lives.

 

On some evenings the directors’ house is transformed. Into a spaceship or a place for dissident things, which does not seem to fit into its surroundings. We are happy that we can celebrate our 10th anniversary. We thank all those with whom we have been able to build and experience this together until today.

Katja Kleiss and Pascal Johanssen

Das Direktorenhaus feiert Geburtstag!

Seit 10 Jahren nun schon zeigt das Direktorenhaus the very best of Applied Arts: Unikate, Kleinserien und Konzeptionelles. Gefeiert wird […]

Seit 10 Jahren nun schon zeigt das Direktorenhaus the very best of Applied Arts: Unikate, Kleinserien und Konzeptionelles. Gefeiert wird das Jubiläum im Mai 2021.

 

Am Anfang war das Direktorenhaus eine verlassene Ruine an der Spree, wie sie stand und lag (das ist Immobiliendeutsch). Ohne Strom, ohne Wasser. Ein übersehener Winkel im Zentrum der Hauptstadt. Aber immerhin: es bot sich die Möglichkeit zur Überraschungstat. Berlin brauchte ein Ausstellungshaus für angewandte Kunst. Einen unabhängigen Ort für ästhetische Tradition und – vor allem – Traditionsbruch.

Am Tag ist das Haus mit seinen hohen Altbauräumen und französischen Balkonen ein Refugium, das von produktiver Konzentration geprägt ist. Auf den Etagen des Direktorenhauses finden sich neben den Ausstellungsräumen Ateliers, Werkstätten und Studios. Hier arbeiten die Fellows, Maler, Designer, Kunsthandwerker und Sounddesigner. Programmatisch setzt sich das Direktorenhaus für eine neue Positionierung von angewandter Kunst ein. Warum das? Wenn das Kunsthandwerk nur die kleine Schwester der Kunst ist, wie es im hippen Kunstmarkt so gern kolportiert wird, dann aber die kleine schlaue Schwester: Im künstlerischen Handwerk scheint eine aktuelle positive Zukunftsvision auf, die zwischen Nähe und Ferne, Verantwortung und Schönheit vermittelt und die Lebenswirklichkeit vieler Menschen berührt.

 

An manchen Abenden verwandelt sich das Direktorenhaus. In ein Raumschiff oder einen Ort für dissidente Dinge, der nicht zum Umfeld zu passen scheint.Wir sind froh, dass wir unseren 10-jährigen Geburtstag feiern können. Wir danken allen, mit denen wir das bis heute zusammen aufbauen und erleben durften.

Katja Kleiss und Pascal Johanssen