Radical Craft

The Direktorenhaus with its exhibition spaces and workshops acts as a transit zone for artistic craftworkers, designers and manufactories. Here “craftsmanship”, the exercising of manual skills, is being taken further. The Direktorenhaus projects alternate between design experiments, new materials, future designs for society and the art of design.

 

The Direktorenhaus’ annual exhibition, “Radical Craft”, presents 60 designers and artistic craftworkers, who show how important artistic craft is today in creating future designs for society. For modern consumer products the market is no longer trending with static goods, but only with improvements – not with fixed features, but only with product enhancements and superior qualities. The exhibition “Radical Craft“ shows how contemporary product design escapes this spiral by drawing on its origins: on the experimental forerunners in conceptual art and in radical artistic craft. These critical approaches demonstrate how important the quality of the products we use every day is: it represents a necessary condition for a comprehensive economic transformation, which is ultimately a cultural one.

 

 

The way in which we produce and at the same time consume things is the key to technological, economic and social transformation. The dynamic of change is being initiated and promoted by designers, artistic craftworkers and manufactories. Many of them are already working sustainably and anticipating the future.

 

 

The Direktorenhaus shows in its annual exhibition that a real distinction between designers and artistic craftworkers hardly exists: For the ancient Greeks, the idea of the techne encompassed both craftsmanship and technical ingenuity, a problem­solving behaviour, which we recognise today as design. The difference between design and craft lies in the way of thinking, between the conservative and the innovative individual. Both, designer and craftworker, are actively engaged in the debate about the transformation in consumption and prosperity – by means of products that can be sensually experienced, whose value does not decrease with time, but increases every year due to their intrinsic worth.

 

The exhibition is curated by Pascal Johanssen.

 

Featured designers:
Studio Greiling, CRUBA, Lutz Könecke, Pia Wüstenberg, Jantje Almstedt, Papierwerk Glockenbach, Laura Görs, Nadine Goepfert, Sarah Pschorn, Anne Lengnink, Claudia Biehne, Hebach & Kloess, Timo Hoheisel, Kathrin Heubeck, VAUST, Stefanie Mittmann, Volker Haug, Siba Sahabi, Doris Bank, Hanne Willmann, Aino Nebel, Agnes Nordenholz, Studio Gutedort, Philipp Weber, Petra Bittl, Jochen Holz, Elke Sada, Elisa Strozyk, Monika Debus, Juliane Schölß, Milena Kling, Alessa Joosten, Christian Haas, Studio Oink, Florian Milker, Antje Dienstbir, Olga Bielawska, Klemens Grund, Rike Bartels, Felicia Müllbaier, Kristina Rothe, Peter Vogel, Katrin Feulner, Lapatsch Unger, Matthias Scherzinger, Anne Petters, Zascho Petkow, Armin Kolb, Martin Holzapfel, Ute Beck, Claudia Schoemig, Pascal Hien, Tino Seubert, Maria Volokhova, Arwed Guderian, Bea Bühler, Martin Mestmacher, Barbara Butz, Carl Bens, Katharina Moch, Jonas Wansing, Markus Pollinger, Silke Janssen, Jan Christian Schulz, Sigrid Vollmer, Mario Albrecht, Aufgabe Null, Johanenlies, Simone Fezer

Radical Craft

Das Direktorenhaus mit seinen Ausstellungsräumen und Werkstätten gilt als Transitzone für Kunsthandwerker, Designer und Manufakturen. Hier wird „Craftmanship“, das handwerkliche Können, weiter gedacht. Die Projekte des Direktorenhauses pendeln zwischen gestalterischen Experimenten, neuen Materialien, sozialen Zukunftsentwürfen und Designkunst.

 

Die Jahresausstellung des Direktorenhauses, „Radical Craft″, stellt 60 Gestalter und Kunsthandwerker vor, die zeigen, welche Bedeutung dem Kunsthandwerk heute in gesellschaftlichen Zukunftsentwürfen zukommt. In der modernisierten Warenwelt gibt es ja der Tendenz des Marktverlaufs nach keine statischen Güter mehr, sondern nur noch Besserungen – keine stabilen Qualitäten, sondern nur Überbietungs- und Steigerungswaren. Die Ausstellung „Radical Craft“ zeigt, wie zeitgenössisches Produktdesign dieser Spirale entkommt, indem es sich auf seine Ursprünge bezieht: auf die experimentellen Vorläufer in der konzeptionellen Kunst und im radikalen Kunsthandwerk. Diese Ansätze des Kritischen zeigen auf, wie wichtig die Qualität der Produkte, die wir jeden Tag nutzen, ist: sie stellt eine notwendige Bedingung für eine umfassende wirtschaftliche Wende dar, die letztlich eine kulturelle ist. 

 

 

 

Die Art und Weise wie wir Dinge produzieren und gleichzeitig konsumieren ist der Schlüssel zu einem technologischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Angestoßen und vorangetrieben wird die Dynamik der Veränderung von Designern, Kunsthandwerkern und Manufakturen. Viele von ihnen arbeiten bereits heute nachhaltig und antizipieren die Zukunft.

 

Das Direktorenhaus zeigt in seiner Jahresausstellung, dass eine grundsätzliche Trennung zwischen den Designern und Kunsthandwerkern kaum existiert: Für die griechische Antike umfasste der Begriff der techné sowohl das handwerkliche Können wie auch die technische Findigkeit, meinte also ein Problemlösungsverhalten, das wir heute als Design begreifen. Der Unterschied zwischen Design und Handwerk liegt in der Denkweise, zwischen dem konservativen und dem innovatorischen Menschentypus. Beide, Designer und Handwerker, greifen in die Debatte um die Konsum und Wohlstandswende gestalterisch ein – mit den Mitteln sinnlich erlebbarer Produkte, deren Wert mit der Zeit nicht abnimmt, sondern der sich, aus ihrer eigenen Tiefe heraus, mit jedem Jahr steigert.

 

Die Ausstellung ist kuratiert von Pascal Johanssen.